Dipo Adebayo
2 min readAug 14, 2022

What my left-hand taught me about improving my weaknesses.

Recently, I tried using my left hand to write. You should see my writing, it was terrible, looked like the writing of an infant.

Interestingly my right hand was once like this, unskilled in writing, but years of practicing refined its skill.

There’s an important point here: everything you’re good at, you likely were once bad at it, or at best, mediocre. But continuous practice and learning improved your skill.

This gives us hope for our weaknesses. In the areas we’re weak at, if we really give ourselves to it, we can become better, maybe not as great as our strengths, but at least good enough to get by.

Just like my left-hand could have got better if I had worked on it.

What’s that area you are poor in? Your emotional intelligence? Your spiritual life? social skill? financial intelligence? Parenting? Marriage? Some bad habit?

There’s Hope. If you give yourself to it, you can become better.

Remember how you learned to write better? A teacher held your hand and taught you to write, and you practiced for years, writing again and again till you got it right.

Similarly, to learn anything get a teacher or mentor who can guide you and give yourself to practice, again and again, till you get it right.

If you liked this article, please use the clap button below so more people get to see the article. And here’s a little tip:

You can give a standing ovation by giving up to 50 claps. Thanks!

Hi. I’m Dipo. I write, speak and train on interpersonal/softskills, teenagers, emotional healing, and overcoming fear, failure, rejection, shame and other self-limiting obstacles to your progress.

Generally, I share content on personal development. I love to see people grow and become better. You can get free access to my articles here: https://bit.ly/3MB3CUu

Let's connect on LinkedIn here: https://www.linkedin.com/in/dipo-adebayo-a99493114

Will you like to support Dipo’s work? Your donation will be gratefully received at 0147752953- Guarantee Trust Bank (naira account), or 5072065841- Zenith Bank (dollar account)

Make my day. Clap for & Share this article 😊

Dipo Adebayo

I am a water engineer, softskills coach, writer & teen counselor. I write on hope and rising above shame, rejection, fear & failure. Follow on IG @dipoadebayo